I wrote this on my Weebly blog, http://www.fuhgadaboutet.weebly.com, but there is some horrid mix-up between that app and my phone. Ten days later, I moved to WordPress, and the connection is much better.

So.

December 7, marks the day of the immaculate conception of Maria, also known more familiarly to me as Mary, mother of Jesus. Immaculate conception runs in the family. All day, fireworks have called attention to the sky, in her name. Rumor has it that all of Nicaragua, León especially, goes all out. People go to windows, sing songs, receive candy, or various useful kitchen items, or noise makers, and repeat. My favorite sight was two grandmotherly women collecting candy together. They strolled with such joy.

One of the phrases merry-makers call out is, “¿Quien causa tanta alegria? Maria!” which means, “Who can cause this much joy? Maria!”

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

