I sit and stare at the volcanoes rising out of the lake, or cradling the lake. It’s all perspective. There is so much I love in this big, well-connected, overly disconnected, wonderful, complex world dancing like a whirling dervish through the cosmos. There is much that frustrates me too, mainly concerning disrespect within my species, and with my species and other species. Shortsighted and indulgent in ways that create or perpetuate pain, or hurt the plants and planet that provides life.

My eyes that gaze upon the lake see green growing things, and blue blood of the earth puddled up and reflecting the sky. They see a banana tree bending toward the water’s surface. They see a tomato plant growing from a pile of leaves that drifted in or were chopped from the leafy friends growing at this hostel. My ears hear conversations that create and perpetuate love, laughter, and music. Home is where your heart is. My heart is big, and my home is in many places. I feel most at home, concerning place, where plants grow, especially when there is some change in elevation to remind me how tiny I am. I feel most at home, concerning people, wherever there are people. I love the complexities of people, and the stories everyone carries around. I love to listen. There are people back in Michigan right now preparing to gather, and feast, and share stories. My heart is there. My heart is also here, because I carry it around with me. There are mountains, green things, blue things, and a Mook Fish to help too.

Yesterday we went to the next town over to find a waterfall. It had mountain power.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I love the sign above because there is a lot of truth to it. The cool thing about that truth is that this planet is such a self-healing and self-cleansing machine  that all we have to do is stop. Stop hurting it, stop being shortsighted and indulgent in ways that perpetuate pain. Tapping into that healing and cleansing energy ourselves heals our selves. Sometimes I think the earth says to us, “Do what you want. This is here. Trees and shrubs and herbaceous plants make so much food that they waste it all the time, and turn it into soil that makes more food. If you missed it this time, wait til next time. Do what you want. But this is here. Green spaces to calm your mind and fill your heart are everywhere, and can be more places. Do what you want. But this is here.”

